Skip to content

Chicken with bacon, onion and cheese.

Canon Photos 013

Today I needed to use up the rashers of bacon that I had for the bacon wrapped chicken and wanted it to be something quick and simple so with the two chicken breasts I had I seasoned them with salt and pepper and a little chicken seasoning and put in the fridge covered with cling film whilst I prepared the rest.

I then heated up a frying pan and once very hot added a tablespoon of oil and fried the bacon until crispy. Then I removed the bacon from the pan and onto a plate to cool and allow to set nice and crispy.

I then poured out the fat from the bacon into a cup and reserved for later. I didn’t wipe the pan but added a knob of butter and a tablespoon of oil and fried the chicken both sides until golden brown and almost cooked through inside. I then placed the chicken on a baking tray and put into the oven at 180c for 20 minutes.

Whilst the chicken was cooking I put the reserved oil from the bacon into the frying pan with the oil and butter that was left from frying the chicken and fried the chopped onion and garlic on a medium heat until soft. Whilst this was cooking I put the crispy bacon into a deep heavy saucepan and using the end of a rolling pin smashed into tiny bits. Then I added the bacon bits to the onion and garlic and stirred in and cooked for a further 2-3 minutes.

Then I removed the chicken from the oven and spooned the onion and bacon mixture all over the top of the chicken breasts and any that was left over I arranged all the way around the chicken breats and inbetween them both to ensure all the flavours from the cooked onion, garlic and bacon would penetrate the chicken. I put this back in the oven for a futher 10 minutes and right near the end I took them out and grated cheddar cheese on top and put back in to melt and brown.

I garnished the chicken with a little chopped fresh parsley and served with the potato salad from yesterday and some of my redcurrant and onion relish.

Canon Photos 017

Ingredients:

  • 6 slices bacon
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp chicken seasoning
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 1-1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • Chopped fresh parsley for garnish

The potato salad and redcurrant and onion relish recipes can be found here:

Potato salad

Redcurrant and onion relish

No comments yet

Leave a comment