Skip to content

Bacon wrapped chicken with potato salad and sweetcorn

Today I was inspired by two friends on a couple of cooking sites I frequent to cook bacon wrapped chicken served with potato salad. I adapted both of their recipes to suit my tastes and as to that was readily available to me at the time.

Here is the Bacon wrapped chicken

Canon Photos 035

This was served with potato salad

Canon Photos 025

Canon Photos 028

And both of these were served together with sweetcorn flavoured with herb butter.

Canon Photos 043

For the potato salad:

I peeled 8 medium potatoes and chopped into cubes ensuring all were the same size as this will make sure they cook evenly. I then placed the cubed potatoes into cold salted water and brought to the boil for approx 10 minutes or until they are soft enough to be pierced with a fork but without breaking up. Once the potatoes were cooked I drained the water and ran under cold water in a sieve to cool down and stop the cooking process. I then set them aside to make the sauce.

For the sauce:

I chopped a cup of spring onions into 1/4 inch pieces and only use the green part not the white end. These I placed into a large bowl. Then I chopped a good handful of fresh parsley and added this to the bowl. Then I chopped finely one stick of celery and also added to the bowl. I then added the mayonnaise, mustard, wine vinegar and salt and pepper and mixed it all up together. Finally I put on 4 eggs to hard boil and once done chopped up three of them and added to the sauce mixture and quartered the fourth one for decoration. Then I added the potaotes and mixed thoroughly but carefully making sure you don’t break up the potatoes. Adjust the ingredients to your taste if you think it needs more or less of something. I don’t usually measure these kind of recipes but use according to taste. I spooned this mixture to a serving bowl and garnished with the egg quarters in each corner and used some more chopped spring onion in the middle and sprinkled with chopped parsley.

For the chicken:

First of all I seasoned two chicken breasts with salt, pepper and dried thyme making sure I rubbed it into all of the chicken and covered every part. Then I put on a plate and covered with film and placed in the fridge for 1 hour but you could marinate overnight if wanted but I would recommend no less than 20 minutes as you want to taste the flavours of the thyme in the chicken.

Whilst the chicken was marinating in the fridge I sliced two 1/2 inch thick slices of tomato and placed them on a small plate and seasoned with salt, crushed garlic and chopped fresh basil. These then were covered with film and also placed into the fridge to marinate for approx 1 hour to allow the flavours to infuse into the tomato.

I then removed the chicken from the fridge and heated a frying pan until very hot and added a tablespoon of oil. I placed the two chicken breasts into the hot oil and fried both sides until golden brown. Make sure to only turn once as you want to seal in the juices. Once the chicken breasts were nice and golden I placed them onto a baking tray and put the tomato on top of the chicken breast right in the middle. I then grated a little cheddar cheese and sprinkled this carefully onto the tomato and then wrapped the chicken and tomato with two rashers of bacon in a criss cross fashion ensuring the ends were tucked under the chicken. Layering like this will allow for the fat from the bacon to drizzle onto the marinated tomato and then the chicken will take on some amazing flavours – the fat from the bacon, the garlic and basil from the tomato and the thyme that I seasoned the chicken in before frying.

Then I placed the chicken into a pre-heated oven at 200c for 40 minutes or until thoroughly cooked through. When I removed the chicken from the oven I placed a piece of parsley under the tomato for decoration but if you have fresh thyme it would be better.

For the sweetcorn:

I just used a tin of sweetcorn and drained it and emptied into a bowl. Then I chopped 1 clove of garlic and some parsley and mixed this with some butter. I placed the herb butter into a saucepan over a low heat and melted. Then I poured the herb butter all over the sweetcorn and decorated with a little chopped parsley.

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

1 tsp dried thyme

salt and pepper

4 cloves garlic

1 large tomato

chopped fresh basil

4 rashers of bacon

Grated cheddar cheese

8 medium potatoes

Bunch spring onions

1 stick of celery

220g mayonnaise

1 tbsp mustard

1 tbsp wine vinegar

4 eggs

Fresh parsley

1 tin sweetcorn

knob of butter

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

