Skip to content

Creamy tarragon, lemon and garlic pasta with cajun spiced chicken and roasted peppers.

Chicken with creamy tarragon, lemon and garlic pasta and roasted peppers

Ingredients

For the cajun spiced chicken:

2 chicken breasts without skin

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp chilli powder

3 cloves crushed

3 cloves garlic minced

2 tbsp flour

small knob of unsalted butter

1 tbsp oil

For the roasted peppers:

1 red pepper

1 green pepper

salt

1 tbsp olive oil

For the sauce:

1/2 cup mayonnaise

2tbsp dijon mustard

2 tbsp oil infused with garlic and chilli

3 garlic cloves

1tbsp lemon juice

1tbsp lemon zest

2tbsp chopped fresh tarragon

1/4tsp salt

1/4tsp pepper

For the pasta:

250g of dried pasta

1 tsp olive oil

salt

To garnish:

2 sprigs of parsley

Chopped fresh parsley

Directions:

For the chicken:

Firstly I trimmed any excess fat and sinue from the chicken breasts and set to one side on a plate and covered. In a large bowl I combined the flour, salt, pepper, paprika, basil, chilli, cloves, thyme and garlic and mixed thoroughly. I then took one of the chicken breasts and dipped it into the bowl rubbing the spice mixture all over the skin ensuring completely coated. Then I did the same to the other chicken breast and covered them both with cling film and put in the fridge for an hour.

Once they had marinated in the cajun spices for an hour I heated a frying pan and once very hot I added the oil and butter. When the butter had melted I placed the two chicken breasts into the pan and fried each side until golden and cooked right through approx 5 minutes each side on a medium heat. Once they were cooked I sliced into thick strips and wrapped in tin foil to rest and keep warm ready for the pasta and sauce.

For the sauce:

Firstly I put four cloves of garlic in a crusher and scraped this into a bowl. Then I grated the zest of a lemon into the bowl with one tablespoon of lemon juice. Then I finely chopped some fresh tarragon and placed this into the bowl. Next I added the mayonnaise, mustard, oil, salt and pepper and whisked well until the sauce was combined well and looked nice and glossy. Then I covered the sauce with film and put in the fridge until ready to add to the pasta and warm through.

For the peppers:

I took one whole red and green pepper and washed and dried then placed sliced in half and placed on a baking tray and put under the grill to burn the skin ready for peeling. Once the skins had turned black and blistered I placed them in a tupperware tub with the lid on to steam for ten minutes. Once they had cooled a little I removed them from the tub and peeled all the skin from the peppers and deseeded. Then I placed the halved peppers onto a tea-towel and pressed the towel down onto the peppers to dry and flatten. I then placed the peppers onto a baking tray and sprinkled with salt and drizzled with oil on both sides. Then I sliced the peppers into strips whilst still on the baking tray and placed into the oven to roast for approx 30 minutes.

For the pasta:

I filled a deep saucepan half full with cold salted water and brought to the boil. Then I added the pasta and stirred thoroughly adding one teaspoon of olive oil to prevent sticking. I let this boil for approximately 7 minutes or until the pasta is soft but still very slightly firm. I then drained the pasta making sure to reserve half a cup of the water the pasta was cooked in. I then placed the pasta back into the saucepan and added the water and the tarragon sauce and stirred well making sure all the pasta is coated with the sauce. I then placed the pasta and sauce back onto the heat to warm through ready to serve.

I spooned the pasta evenly onto the middle of the plate making sure it’s layered well for the chicken to sit on top. I then removed the foil from the chicken and placed three slices of chicken on top of the pasta and sprinkled with chopped fresh parsley and placed a sprig of parsley on the centre piece of chicken.

I then took the roasted peppers from the oven and layered them criss cross on the side of the plate just resting on the edge of the pasta.

Chicken with creamy tarragon, lemon and garlic pasta and roasted peppers


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

